Forthcoming Meetings

Spring meeting

20 April 2024 – Online

Autumn meeting

21 September 2024 – Valencia


Health Care For Older Adults In europe

Article by Andreas Stuck and Tahir Masud.

Read it here - cklick


Presidential Message

 European Training Requirements Geriatric Medicine 

The European Training Requirements Geriatric Medicine were approved at the UEMS Council Meeting on 17 October 2020. Our next goals are to update the pregraduate training requirements and establish a (voluntary) European examination in Geriatric Medicine.

See the document here


Current Issues

The UEMS Geriatrics Section is one of 43 specialist sections of the UEMS (European Union of Medical Specialists).

Geriatric medicine is a recognized independent medical specialty in 17 of 31 European countries, a recognized subspecialty in 10 countries, and in two countries (Germany, France) both models (independent specialty and subspecialty) exist. Only 5 countries (Cyprus, Estonia, Greece, Portugal and Slovenia) do not have a recognized postgraduate medical degree in geriatric medicine as of 2016.

For historic and structural reasons the organisation of geriatric medicine varies between European countries.
The UEMS Geriatrics Section addresses common issues shared among all countries. In previous work, the Section proposed on a uniform definition of geriatrics (with translations in many European languages) and on minimum requirements for training in geriatrics as part of undergraduate medical training.
Currently, the key focus of the Section is the definition of standards of postgraduate training in geriatric medicine.